Best Practices Advisory Committee


Modeling Collaboration and Innovation

We have invited experts from across the country to push us to think beyond the boundaries of standard design and operating procedures. They bring knowledge from different disciplines to ensure we are incorporating best practices and using state of the art approaches.

65 national experts representing 50 different organizations have given their time to support the creation of a thriving and healthy Medical District for the 21st Century.

Education & Research Experts

Dr. Timothy Beatley

Professor of Sustainable Communities | University of Virginia

Samantha Bradley

Cool Schools Manager | Texas Trees Foundation

Dr. Wayne Cascio, MD

Director, Center for Public Health & Environmental Assessment | Environmental Protection Agency

Lori Delacruz Lewis

Sustainability Education Coordinator | Dallas College

Dr. Geoffrey Donovan

Research Forester | USDA Forest Service

Donald Gatzke

Professor of Architecture | University of Texas at Arlington

Dr. Abdulrahman Habid

Deputy Research Director | National Center for Artificial Intelligence at SDAIA

Dr. Michelle Kondo

Research Social Scientist | USDA Forest Service

Dr. Chanam Lee

Professor, Landscape Architecture & Urban Planning | Texas A&M University

Dr. Adrian Parr

Dean, College of Design | University of Oregon

Terri Scannell

Director of Social Responsibility and Community Benefit | Vizient

Dr. Shannon Van Zandt

Professor & Executive Associate Dean, College of Architecture | Texas A&M University

Dr. Cavin Ward-Caviness

Principal Investigator | Environmental Protection Agency

Environment Experts

Dr. Richard Baldauf

Senior Research Engineer | Environmental Protection Agency

Dr. Robert Brown

Professor, Landscape Architecture & Urban Planning | Texas A&M University

Michael Carleton

Senior Project Manager | Arredondo, Zepeda & Brunz

Dr. Fouad Jaber

Professor & Extension Specialist | Texas A&M AgriLife Extension

Dr. Kathy Jack

Director, Dallas Healthy Cities Program | The Nature Conservancy

David Marquis

Consultant, Author & Activist

Rachel McGregor

Urban Forestry Manager | Texas Trees Foundation

Gretchen Riley

Urban & Community Forestry State Coordinator | Texas A&M Forest Service

Dr. Aaron Roberts

Director, Advanced Environmental Research Institute | University of North Texas

Matt Weaver

Whitacre Presidential Fellow , Land-use Planning, Management, & Design | Texas Tech University

Paul Westbrook

President | RE:source

Chariss York

Extension Program Director , Texas Community Watershed Partners | Texas AgriLife Extension

Arts & Humanities Experts

Dr. Larry Allums

Executive Director Emeritus | Dallas Institute of Humanities

DP Ayyappan

Owner & Principal | dP(A) Acoustics, Inc.

Linda Blase

Adjunct Instructor, Meadows School of the Arts | Southern Methodist University

Adriane Bulthuis

Former Public Programs Manager | Perot Museum of Nature and Science

Courtney Crothers

Art Curator | UT Southwestern Medical Center

Jill Magnuson

Director of External Affairs | Nasher Sculpture Center

David Preziosi

Executive Director | Texas Historical Foundation

Tamara Wootton Forsyth

 Marcus-Rose Family Deputy Director | Dallas Museum of Art

Dr. Jessie Zarazaga

Director, Sustainability & Development Program | Southern Methodist University

Economic Development Experts

Dustin Bullard

Executive Vice President, Economic Development & Place | Downtown Dallas, Inc.

Craig Davis

President & CEO | VisitDallas

Lauren Fasic

Managing Partner | Delineator

Eric Griffin

Managing Director, Research & Innovation | Dallas Regional Chamber

Tipton Housewright

Principal | OMNIPLAN

Brian Keith

Director, Urban Design & Planning | JHP

Conners Ladner

Principal Landscape Architect | Design Workshop

Lara Moffat

Business Development | Landscape Forms

Dr. Daniel Oney

Director, Texas Real Estate Research Center

Ann Podeszwa

Landscape Designer | Consulting Landscape Designer

Carlton Schwab

President & CEO | Texas Economic Development Council

Larry Speck

Architect & Professor | Page Southerland Page & University of Texas at Austin

Vince Tam

 Senior Planner | HNTB

Steven Upchurch

Managing Director & Principal | Gensler

Matt Shields

President | Shields Capital Group

Operations Experts

Dr. Bruce Brown

Associate Vice President, Safety and Business Continuity | UT Southwestern Medical Center

Jessica Burnham

Director, Masters of Arts in Design & Innovation | Southern Methodist University

Reginald Christian

Director of Security | Children’s Health

Michael Hellman

Retired Director | Parks Department of Sacramento, California

Kevin Oden

Interim Director, Office of Homeless Solutions | City of Dallas

Captain Richard Roebuck

Captain of Operations | Dallas County Hospital District Police Department

Jennifer Sanders

Executive Director and Co-Founder | Dallas Innovation Alliance

Lieutenant Wendi Laake

Lieutenant, Northwest Patrol Division | Dallas Police Department

Major Catrina Shead

Assistant Chief of Police | Dallas Police Department

Chief Marlin Suell

Chief of Police | Dallas County Hospital District Police Department

Willis Winters

Retired Director, Department of Parks & Recreation | City of Dallas

Kevin L. Dilliard, DLS

Assistant Director of Maintenance & Grounds Landscape | Southern Methodist University

Transportation & Mobility Experts

Andrew Ittigson

 Deputy Project Manager, Automated Bus Consortium | AECOM

Alisyn Malek

CEO & Founder | Middle Third Co.

Dr. Theresa Pohlkamp

Regeneron and Bike Enthusiast. | UT Southwestern Medical Center